8.1 – Full On

Welcome back to my Pentagon Challenge. One ACL Cup win down. Season 2022/23 begins in Cape Town – my first full season at the club.

Episodes: 1.1, 2.1, 2.2, 3.1, 3.2, 4.1, 4.2, 5.1, 6.1, 6.2, 6.3, 7.1

A respectable 8th after six months at CTCFC last season and time to put a Shankly sized stamp on the team.

Straight into the transfers. I knew we had some good players from last term, but they could so easily be improved. Limitations on foreign players are a maximum of three, so the scouts had been given the last six months scouting the local area and had unearthed a few boys I wanted to bring into the squad.

bill-shankly_-inbox-20.png

Mashishi, Percy Kunene and Jones looked like future gems.

As the league season kicked off, in South Africa, the top eight teams from last year compete in the Super 8 Cup – very early on in the season. I’d been drawn against local rivals Ajax who were suitably dispatched 1-0 before I destroyed Orlando Pirates (best kit ever in real life 2017 by the way) 4-0.

A final was set versus my new foes, Kaizer Chiefs. I’d lost to them last time around in the SA Cup final so I asked the players for immediate revenge.

We got it, winning comfortably 3-1 with Kunene, my new summer signing closing the game out in the 83rd minute. My first trophy, by October, in South Africa and third overall for Bill Shankly – great for the reputation!

bill-shankly_-inbox-21-e1499939130288.png

Bill Shankly_ Inbox-22

South African Super Eight Cup_ Overview Stages

Nine games had elapsed in the league campaign, nearly 1/3rd of the way through and after an awful start, losing vs Ajax and drawing with the Sundowners, I am on a seven game winning streak. Goals from everywhere is helping this as I’m regularly scoring three or four a game – usually in the first half which is killing teams.

cape-town-city-football-club_-senior-fixtures.png

cape-town-city-football-club_-competitions-2.png

Top of the table after nine, with a game in hand.

Join me next time for the rest of the season.


Thanks for reading. @AjaxU19s