1.1 – Half the World Away

Pentagon1

Welcome readers, to the first episode of my Pentagon Challenge on FM17.

Welcome to the Oasis

Getting into my first FM game for circa 5 years (after playing since the early CM versions) after a friend challenged me to take over “the hardest club in the game”, Palermo, I was immersed once again (we all know the feeling). Watching other grown men play FM on Facebook for the FM17Project then brought home how sad we really all are. I loved it.

So after guiding Southampton & Juventus to Champions League glory in a second save, (I’d moved on from Goldaniga and co.), I decided to give the famous Pentagon Challenge a shot.

Sorry Hackney & Leyton Football League, I’m off to Asia.

No job for Sunday League legend Bill Shankly after a good 8 months in China and it was almost time to pack my bags and try South Korea before plucky Hunan Xiangtao, two points from bottom and only three wins in 22 games thought they’d give me an interview. Now I don’t know about you guys, but I started asking for absolutely nothing from the board in the interviews as it never bloody works and I never get invited back. Luckily, Xiangtao had nothing to give and into the Chinese First Division I strolled.

What had I walked into?

I love playing 3 up front. Whether it’s the Keegan “I’d bloody love it” mentality, or the fact that it doesn’t matter how many defenders you play, the opposition will always low cross and score. False 9s and a DM – that’s just the ticket.

Now unfortunately, shoehorning 2nd tier Chinese 19 year olds into my formation doesn’t really work. Or so I feared, when those little circles in the formation weren’t solid green go signs, but instead, very empty Trivial Pursuit pies.

The Chinese Leagues also have a few odd rules. I’ll run you through these as we go, or should I say, as I find out. I didn’t read the fm_adventure guide as you should, on managing in lesser known counties.

Rules aren’t something you need to worry about though, when the transfer window is shut and your squad of children and a couple of their teachers is settled.

So I had eight games to keep Xiangtao from the bottom three and relegation.

Heavy tactics training, and heavy reliance on my luck and Xiangtao had done the unthinkable and won a few games. We’d secured survival with a remarkable 6 wins and a few lovely performances.  30 points from a 30 game season and we were safe.

I wish I could say someone stood out individually or scored the goals I needed, but pure inconstancy and the extra 10% effort for the new manager must have made the difference. I don’t think this is the team to take me to a Champions League final in Asia, so time take my first coaching badges this summer I feel.

Join me in season two right now! Episode 2.1


See you next episode. Thanks for reading – @AjaxU19s

One thought on “1.1 – Half the World Away

  1. Pingback: 4.1 – Just Getting Older | Pentagon Challenge - FM17

Leave a comment