S1 – Closing It Out

Welcome back to Sandy Sabotage – the destruction of Barcelona

Intro, S1, The Opening Salvo, Part 3

Welcome back to the destruction of Barcelona.

April is a disaster (stroke excellent). We pick up just four points from a possible 18 using our ultra defensive strikerless 5-2-1-2-0 formation.

barcelona_-senior-fixtures-5.png

Now for an #ElClásico that I must try to win. Playing a fairly regular 4-2-3-1 we go down 2-1 and the board are distinctly unhappy. As per the guidelines – #6 – I am trying to miss out on Champions League football. Currently in 3rd, the board are not happy with me. I’m officially ‘under fire’.

Barcelona_ Competitions-2

I need a couple of wins in the final two games to even have a hope of season 2.

sandy-sabotage_-inbox-3.png

We shake aside Eibar 4-0 and then lose to Valencia! This could be it. Just 7 points from the final 27 available.

P49-W25-D10-L14.

may.png

Barcelona_ Competitions

3rd place – which fails my 6th guideline, and gets me into the Champions League. But overall I’d say that the season has been a success vs the guidelines. Hopefully I have reduced the reputation of the club, and I’ve definitely put a dent in financially.

The results in Europe. Getting knocked out in the first knockout rounds would have been damaging to finances – excellent.

barcelona_-senior-fixtures-4.png

What have I learned?

Luis Suarez ends the season top goal scorer, with 17 in 46 games, Messi with 16 goals and 10 assists – getting the leagues Player of the Year. Ter-Stegen wins Goalkeeper of the Year with 30 clean sheets. He came on as a sub 18 times and only conceded 12 goals!

Looking at the squad, over the summer I need another centre back, a left back to cover Jordi Alba and a centre forward to challenge Suarez.

An awful deal comes in for Rafinha from Burnley. He played just 3 games last season so off he goes. In return, I bring in Charlie Austin from Southampton for big money to put some pressure / take Suarez’s place.

Somehow I seem to have made it through season 1. The board are roundly disappointed to finish 3rd, and with 28% support I think I’m clinging on.

board-end-of-season.png

finances

Join me next time for the summer transfer merry-go-round and season 2.

Cheers

SandySig


FM17 Pentagon Challenge  ||  FM18 – Benevento  ||  FM19

Leave a comment